Outstanding TAs receive TA Award of Excellence

The Department of Geography and Environmental Studies has many outstanding teaching assistants.  Every year we ask instructors and students to nominate these hard working individuals for the DGES TA Award of Excellence.  This year we received many outstanding nominations and after difficult deliberations, we have decided that the two recipients this year are Katherine Cullen and Aldous Sperl.

Here’s a few words from both Kate and Aldous:

I’m really happy and flattered to receive a TA Excellence Award from our
department.  DGES felt like my home-away-from-home throughout my undergrad
and Master’s; finishing off my degree with this recognition is very special to
me. 

Kate Cullen with DGES Grad Supervisor Fran Klodawsky (r) and grad program administrator Natalie Pressburger (l).

Kate Cullen with DGES Grad Supervisor Fran Klodawsky (r) and grad program administrator Natalie Pressburger (l).

TAing has been one of the highlights of my Master’s degree and I thoroughly
enjoyed the experience.  Being a good TA is certainly not difficult when
you are able to work with such excellent faculty, staff, students and other
TAs.  The professors that I have TA’d for over the past three years all
demonstrated a strong interest in their students’ learning and well-being and
they made sure to instill that in all the TAs that worked with them.  Having
the opportunity to lead discussion groups and work closely with undergraduate
students has been a very rewarding experience.  It’s exciting to help
students realize the value of geographic analysis and learn to see the world in
new ways.  Teaching in such a positive environment has reinforced my own
passion for the discipline and for teaching.  My thanks goes out to all
members of the department that I have learned with, studied under, and worked
for.

Aldous Sperl with grad program administrator Natalie Pressburger

Aldous Sperl with grad program administrator Natalie Pressburger

Being a teaching assistant at Carleton has allowed me to explore the possibility of teaching as a more long-term endeavour.  Although at times it has been  a difficult task, I have also found satisfaction and meaning in this experience and I am grateful to have had the opportunity. I’d also like to thank the outstanding professors that have played a large role in directing my efforts. 

This entry was posted in DGES Student Awards. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

