DGES TA Excellence Award Winners

Doctoral students Mary Trudeau and Anna Crawford were recently named DGES’ 2013-14 TA Excellence Award Winners.

DGES TA Excellence Award Winners Mary Trudeau (middle) and Anna Crawford (right) with DGES Chair Doug King.

DGES TA Excellence Award Winners Mary Trudeau (middle) and Anna Crawford (right) with DGES Chair Doug King.

Mary Trudeau’s thoughts about TAing for the department:

I feel lucky to have had the opportunity to TA a variety of courses and to work with dedicated professors, fellow TAs and departmental administration. The experience has allowed me to learn something about how students learn and it has also given me an appreciation for the significant effort professors put into preparing courses and assessment tools.  I really enjoy enthusiastic students and questions that reveal their passion for our planet and its stewardship. ​Thank you to everyone, faculty, staff and students, who have made being a TA an enjoyable experience. 

Anna Crawford says:

I feel very fortunate to have truly enjoyed my TA assignments and associated duties.  It was a pleasure to work with other knowledgeable teaching assistants and a compassionate professor. I feel that I gained valuable insight from these individuals into both the course material and teaching methods. 

Leading discussion groups was among my favourite responsibilities as I enjoyed getting to know the students individually, participating in engaging conversations and watching the student’s grow intellectually throughout the semester. I look forward to my future TA placements in the department and continuing to improve my own teaching abilities. 

This entry was posted in Carleton geography, DGES Student Awards. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

